Caitlin L. Pickering, PE

About Caitlin

Caitlin is a Mechanical Engineer that has over 12 years of experience in the engineering industry. She is a graduate of Penn State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Architectural Engineering with an emphasis on HVAC design and a minor in Architectural Studies.

Caitlin enjoys working at Barton and when asked what she loves most about her job, she states, “My co-workers. It’s hard to find a home as an engineer with a company that is focused on their product, AND their people, but Barton does just that.”

Tell us a little bit about your life at home.

After living in Baltimore Maryland and Washington DC for years after college, my husband and I relocated to Pittsburgh, PA in 2016, where my immediate family, and his extended family reside. I never would have imagined we would buy a house in the same neighborhood I grew up in, but here we are, five minutes from my parents! It’s been such a blessing these last few years, especially after we had our daughter, Lucy, in 2019.

What’s your hometown?

Pittsburgh, PA.

What was the first job you got paid to do?

I worked in guest relations at Sandcastle (a waterpark here in Pittsburgh). If you needed a locker or inner-tube, I was your gal!

What was your first job in engineering like?

My first job out of college was for a consulting firm in Baltimore, Maryland. It was a great learning experience with an awesome team. I really enjoyed working for them, but ended up changing jobs once I met my husband and relocated to Washington DC.

What do you like most about the ESOP?

I feel a greater connection to the company, knowing that we will all directly benefit from its success.

How does the ESOP impact you the most?

Having a stake in the company’s performance and profits, definitely provides additional day-to-day motivation.

If I wasn’t an Engineer, I’d be?

In graphic design.

When I’m not at work I’m doing……

Most likely Mom-stuff! I also spend a lot of time working on our 115 year old house. We did a substantial renovation prior to moving in, but my to-do list is still long! Most recently I’ve been working on the walk-in closet in our attic.

I’m seldom without?

A toddler at my feet!

What’s on your “stranded on a desert island” playlist?

This is tough for me… I love all kinds of music! Going to a concert is probably one of my favorite things to do. I really enjoy The XX , Sylvan Esso, Glass Animals (pretty much anything indie/electropop). Pearl Jam, Gary Clark Jr and Leon Bridges are some of my other favorites.

What’s your favorite sport?

To watch; football. To play; basketball.

What’s your hidden talent?

Modern calligraphy.

What’s on your bucket list?

To visit all the national parks. My husband and I started to make a decent dent pre-Lucy, and I’m hoping to continue the tradition as a family.

Join Our Barton Associates Team!