Marlena R. MacPherson

About Marlena R. MacPherson

Marlena is a electrical designer that graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electrical Engineering.

Marlena has worked at Barton for over 10 years and when asked what she likes most about the ESOP, she states, “I like that I am personally invested in this company as well as financially. I have always wanted to do a good job to see the business succeed, but now it is like as the business succeeds I am very directly reaping the benefits of that success. Even more than just a regular paycheck.”

Tell us a little bit about your life at home.

My husband (of 15 years) and I live in Shiloh, Pa. We have a son and daughter-in-law that live nearby in Northeastern School District. Our granddaughter is our amazing, special little girl. She is 6 years old and enjoys bossing her pappy around and getting anything she wants from her Mimi. I have 2 brothers, one lives in Dover with my Nephew and next door to my mom. His daughter lives in Philadelphia. My other brother lives in Yuma Arizona with his wife.

A fun fact about my family: My dad was 1 of 14 children and my mom was 1 of 6 children. I have over 50 first cousins and tons others. I am the 4th youngest. With many of them living in or around York County, it is very rare for me to not run into someone I am related to when out and about town.

What was your first job in engineering like?

My first job in Engineering started 5 years after graduating college. I worked in a firm, actually like 2 blocks down the road from our York office, doing a very similar job I do here at Barton. I started out drafting in both Autocad and Microstation programs. I worked on multiple types of engineering projects – Architectural (Education, Commercial, Industrial, etc), Environmental, and Transportation.

What was the first job you got paid to do?

I started working at Hills Department Store here in York at the old Delco Plaza. I was 16 years old and worked as a cashier.

What do you love most about your job?

I really enjoy seeing the finished product of my work, at both the end of the design stage and the end of the construction phase. And I like it when a well done design and construction project leads to a satisfied client.

When I’m not at work I’m doing……

I really enjoy spending time with my husband and our family or friends. We like to play games, cards and board games. And I also enjoy watching tv/movies.

What’s your favorite sport?

I would say my favorite is Baseball, even though I enjoy all types of sports. And I especially like watching it live/in person the most. Enjoying baseball is one of the things that my husband and I have in common and we enjoy watching it together.

I’m seldom without?

My Diet Mt Dew.

Join Our Barton Associates Team!